Tags

, , ,

I made these cute little mittens for the sons of one of my best friends. They live in France where winters get pretty cold and what could be best but keep your hands warm in a pair of cute little animal mittens?

Little Wolf Mittens (1)

The pattern I used is called Little Fox Mittens by Birch Hollow Cottage. As the name indicates, they are originally written to make a fox version. I didn’t have any brown wool in my stash so I made them in grey and turned them into wolves and mice. I made the wolf ones first and they ended up looking a bit more like mice, which gave me the idea for the second pair.

Little Mouse Mittens (1)

They were made from some 8ply Luxury from Bendigo Woollen Mills (left over from a cardigan I made last year that I still haven’t blogged about) for the light grey and small scraps of acrylic yarn for the eyes and mouth.

Little Mittens (2)

They were quite a pleasure to make, they went up fast and were easy to put together. The pattern is very well written and comes in 3 sizes (toddler, youth small and youth large) as well as two design options (with or without flap). As you can see, it is also pretty easy to adapt it to make different animals as you wish.

Little Wolf Mittens (3)

Ravelry details can be found as follows: Wolf Mittens and Mouse Mittens.