Tags

, , , ,

Happy New Year! I hope you all had a lovely time with your loved ones over the Christmas holidays. On our end, we ate too much food, scoffed down too much chocolate and the kids got thoroughly spoiled. In other words, it was perfect.

I’ve been hesitating about doing a ‘The Year That Was’ type of post. I don’t normally do them but this blog is kind of my diary so here it goes:

2013 was tough, there’s no denying that. It was quite a roller-coaster and the last few months were the worst; I was really over it by then and very keen to move on to 2014. In saying that though, I have to admit there were some good sides. Big, fun and exciting stuff has happened. The 2013 highlights were:

  •  Our trip to France; this was too awesome for words, best 6 weeks of the year!
  •  I signed up – and started studying – for an online course. Going back to study has been on my mind for a while; a combination of circumstances decided me to go for it in October. It can be tough juggling it all but well worth it.
  •  I got my licence!!! As in, my driving licence. Yes, I’m 31. No, I’ve never had a licence before. It happened a few days before Christmas ; it was the best present I’ve ever given myself.
  •  Miss P started going to daycare in November. Only one day a week to start off with, increasing to 3 days a week in 2014. It was a massive step for us to take but had become a necessity. This social, active little girl of mine very much needed the interaction and stimulation that couldn’t be provided at home, even with playdates and numerous trips to parks and playgrounds.

On the craft front, 2013 was definitely a knitting year. I managed only 7 sewing projects in the whole year (!!!), which was partly due to lack of time and partly to a very tired sewing machine that refused to cooperate. On the other hand, I finished 34 knitting projects, have another 5 that got started but not finished and 2 that were abandoned for different reasons.

In 2014, I’d like to keep the knitting up (and especially finish the 3 blankets I have started) and get back to sewing too; my big sewing goal is to make a few outfits for myself. I’m probably way over-estimating my free time but I’d also like to blog a bit more. I don’t want to pressure myself though as I’ll be pretty busy with the kids and studying but I’ll play it by ear. I’ll definitely give it my best go.

I’ve finally figured out how to make a nice banner for the blog and whilst I was at it I took the plunge and opened a Facebook page for the blog. I’ve been wanting to do that for a long time, to share all the things that don’t make it into a blog post. I’ll also be posting blog updates on there so if you’d like to follow me through Facebook, hop on over to the page, you know what to do. Maybe even soon, I’ll figure out how to add buttons on the blog, haha!

So, happy 2014 everyone! Have you made any resolutions for the New Year? Or set yourself a few goals maybe? Please share.

Christmas Family Shot