Tags

, , , , ,

One of the things that I like the most about knitting, is that you never stop learning. I’ve been knitting since I was a little kid but I realise now that up until recently my skills were actually limited. I’ve been in a knitting frenzy for over a year now and the amount of new stitches, techniques and tricks I’ve picked up in that time is astounding. Ravelry has a lot to answer to that, mind you.

Axiom Test Knit (2)

This tee was no exception. When I think about knitting, I think scarves, beanies, jumpers, cardigans, that sort of thing. I’ve never really thought about making a knitted tee. When Hanna, the very talented designer behind Hada’s Little Corner announced that she was organising a knit-along test-along for her new pattern, Axiom, I jumped at the chance. Hanna’s patterns are very popular and testing opportunities are often filled very quickly. This one was a bit different; anyone who wanted to test the pattern could, as long as they could meet the deadline.

Axiom Test Knit (6)

I still consider myself a newbie in lace knitting so this top was a nice little challenge. The lace pattern at the front is a lot trickier than what I was used to. It’s no brain surgery but I did have to keep my eyes on my work to make sure I wasn’t making any mistakes. Given it’s knitted in a lace-weight yarn, it didn’t take me as much time as I’d have thought. It was just the perfect mix of lace pattern and stockinette stitch to keep it fast going, interesting and give me the motivation to just keep knitting.

Axiom Test Knit (3)

The end result is a top I’m absolutely in love with. Pink hues aren’t usually my thing but this time it just worked. I used some of the yarn my mum and I wound in July and that, too, turned out to be a great choice for this pattern. Because of the lace pattern it needs to be worn with a camisole underneath (or a long-sleeve tee for winter), which means it’s a bit too warm for a Brisbane summer. Still, I managed to wear it a few times before it got too hot and you can be sure I’ll wear it again in the fall. I’m also planning on making another one, with a different lace pattern at the front (maybe something a bit less see-through so it could be worn on its own) but that will have to wait until the Christmas knitting is all done.

Axiom Test Knit (7)

For more photos and infos, check out my Ravelry project page.

Pattern can be found on Ravelry here.

