Tags

, ,

You got a little sneak peek on Monday and as promised, here are some better photos of Miss P’s birthday rainbow dress.

Vous en aviez vu un aperçu lundi et comme promis, voici de meilleures photos de Miss P dans sa robe arc-en-ciel.

Rainbow Dress (11)

It was a joy to make. The pattern is the Geranium Dress by Made by Rae. I’d used the free newborn version to make a dress for a friend’s baby recently and immediately fell in love with it. I proceeded to buy the full version of the pattern, with Miss P’s birthday dress in mind.

C’était une joie de faire cette robe. Le patron est la Geranium Dress de Made by Rae. J’avais utilisé la version nouveau-né gratuite pour faire une robe pour le bébé d’une amie et j’en suis immédiatement tombée amoureuse. J’ai donc acheté la version entière, pensant m’en servir pour faire la robe d’anniversaire de Miss P.

Rainbow Dress (1)

It’s such a versatile pattern – 3 sleeve options, 3 neckline options, pockets, top or dress options – and very easy to customize. I just made some quick calculations, adding seam allowances, to figure out how wide the rainbow strips had to be.

Le patron est très versatile (3 types de manches, 3 types de col, des poches, option robe ou haut) et très facile à personnaliser. Il m’a simplement suffit de faire des calculs rapides, en ajoutant les coutures, pour déterminer la largeur des bandes de couleur.

Rainbow Dress (2)

The pattern is full of tips and hints that help with giving the dress a neat, professional finish. The instructions are clear, detailed and easy to follow, as always with Rae’s patterns.

Le patron est rempli de conseils et astuces qui aident à obtenir un fini net et professionnel. Les instructions sont claires, détaillées et facile à suivre, comme il est toujours le cas avec les patrons de Made by Rae.

Rainbow Dress (10)

The fabrics I used are all from my local Spotlight. I couldn’t find the colours I wanted from the same range of fabric so the red, orange, blue and purple are their cheap poly-cotton, while the yellow and green ones are quilting cotton. The white fabric is a cotton from my stash.

J’ai obtenu tous les tissus à mon magasin local. Je n’ai pas réussi à trouver les couleurs que je voulais dans la même qualité de tissu, ce qui fait que le rouge, orange, bleu et violet sont du poly-coton, alors que le jaune et vert sont du pur coton. Le tissu blanc est un coton que j’avais déjà à ma disposition.

Rainbow Dress (5)

I didn’t finish the seams with the overlocker but that was a mistake. After the first wash, the inside of the dress is already a tangled mess of colourful threads (the polycottons are especially bad). I’m going to try and finish all the seams with my pinking shears and see if that helps.

Je n’ai pas fini mes coutures avec ma surfileuse mais c’était une erreur. Après le premier lavage, le verso de la robe est déjà un désordre de fils colorés (le poly-coton particulièrement s’effiloche facilement). Je vais essayer de finir les coutures avec mes ciseaux à cranter, en espérant que cela arrange un peu les choses.

Rainbow Dress (7)

Miss P watched me making the dress, being really cute and encouraging me with her ‘wow, it looks really good, maman!’ so she was pretty excited about wearing it. She loves it and has already worn it twice: at the party and today for the photos but then she insisted on keeping it on. It was really meant just for the party but it looks like we’ll get quite a bit more use out of it, which is great!

Miss P m’a regardé faire la robe et était adorable à m’encourager en me disant que la robe était déjà très jolie. Elle était donc très excitée à l’idée de la porter. Elle l’adore et l’a déjà portée deux fois : le jour de son anniversaire et aujourd’hui pour les photos (et elle a d’ailleurs insisté pour la garder toute la journée). La robe était prévue vraiment que pour son anniversaire mais on dirait bien qu’elle va encore pas mal servir, ce qui est vraiment génial !

Rainbow Dress (13)

Have you ever made a party dress for your little one? What’s a favourite pattern that you like to use?

Avez-vous déjà fait une robe pour un anniversaire? Quel est votre patron préféré pour ce genre d’occasion ?

—————————————–

Linking to:

The Train To Crazy’s Make It Wear It