Tags

, ,

Babies. I love babies. I love the way they smell, how tiny and cuddly and soft and plain old adorable they are. I probably won’t have any more babies myself so I whenever I’m in the presence of one, I make sure I fill up on cuddles. And luckily for me, there are plenty of babies around me at the moment.

Les bébés. J’adore les bébés, leur odeur, le fait qu’ils soient si petits, si câlins, si doux et tout simplement adorable. Je n’en aurais très probablement pas d’autres moi, de bébés, donc à chaque fois que je suis en présence d’un, j’en profite pour faire le plein de câlins. Et heureusement pour moi, il y a beaucoup de bébés autour de moi en ce moment.

Baby Geranium Dress (1)

A friend of mine is expecting a baby girl in a couple of weeks so I just couldn’t resist to try out the Geranium Dress pattern by Made By Rae. It’s adorable and is getting great reviews so I’ve been thinking of buying it to make a dress for Miss P ever since it’s been released. Rae’s made the newborn size available for free, too, which was a great way to give it a try (find it here). How nice is that? So I tried it and as expected, absolutely loved it! The pattern is well written, great explanations and easy to follow and the finished dress is gorgeous (if I may say so myself, haha).

Et justement, j’ai une amie qui attend une petite fille pour la fin du mois, et je n’ai donc pas pu resister à la tentation d’essayer le patron de la Geranium Dress de Made by Rae. Depuis qu’elle la publié, j’ai eu envie de l’acheter pour faire une robe pour Miss P. Rae offre même la taille 0-3 mois gratuitement, ce qui était un super moyen d’essayer le patron avant de l’acheter (vous le trouverez ici). C’est plutôt sympa de sa part, non ? Je l’ai donc essayé, et comme je m’y attendais, je l’adore ! Le patron est super, les explications claires, precises et faciles à suivre et la robe est magnifique (si je peux me permettre, haha).

Baby Geranium Dress (2)

The fabric is a cotton sateen I bought from Spotlight. I’ve used it at Christmas to make an apron and I think it makes a cute baby dress too (my poor photographic skills don’t do it much justice, I’m afraid). It’s quite soft and has a lovely shine on it. The only thing about that fabric is that it frays pretty easily, so next time I use it (I still have a good amount left), I think I’ll overlock all the edges before sewing, to prevent that from happening.

Le tissu est un coton satin acheté à Sportlight. Je l’avais déjà utilisé à Noël pour faire un tablier et je trouve qu’il fait très bien aussi en robe de bébé (mes compétences photographiques quasi-inexistantes n’y font pas justice, malheureusement). Le tissu est doux et légèrement brillant. Le seul problème, est qu’il s’effiloche facilement. La prochaine fois que je l’utiliserais (j’en ai encore pas mal en stock) je penser que je vais surjeter les bords avant de coudre, pour éviter ça.

Baby Geranium Dress (3)

I made something else to go with the dress that I’ll show you on Wednesday. In the meantime, I wish you all a beautiful Monday and a fantastic week!

J’ai fait autre chose pour aller avec la robe, que je vais vous montrer mercredi. En attendant, je vous souhaite à tous de passer un merveilleux lundi et une semaine fantastique !

 

Linking to:

_ The Train to Crazy’s Make It Wear It Thursday

