Tags

There hasn’t been much crafting happening around here lately, and even less sewing. I’ve managed to sneak in a fair bit of knitting in the evenings but I’m currently working on a blanket so it’s taking a while.

Frilly Sleeves Dress (1)

The only thing that came out of my sewing machine since Christmas is this dress. I have these Japanese pattern books that I’ve been wanting to try out so I thought I’d give myself a bit of a challenge: to make two garments a month from these books, all through 2013 – so 24 patterns all up. I only managed to make one in January so the odds aren’t looking good but I’ll give it a go.

Frilly Sleeves Dress (2)

The dress came from ‘Happy Homemade vol. 2: Kids’ by Ruriko Yamada. It’s the first one in the book (model A), called ‘Dress with Frilled Shoulders’. I really love how it turned out. There is a reason why Japanese patterns are so popular and that’s because you’re guaranteed to get something that looks great and with a professional-looking finish.

Frilly Sleeves Dress (3)

I love it. I think it’s really cute. I couldn’t get Miss P to try it on for a photo session so I only have photos of the dress on its own. I’m going to have to find a new bribery method I think, hehe. I got her to try it when I’d just finished it, to check the fit, so you’ll have to trust me when I say that she looks great in it.

Frilly Sleeves Dress (4)

Next on my list of Japanese patterns are a skirt and a couple of blouses.  I can’t wait to see how these turn out!

 

Linking to: The Train To Crazy’s ‘Make It Wear It Thursdays’

