Tags

, , , , , , ,

I made a lot of knitted presents this year; five to be exact. Living in Brisbane, I’ve been really missing knitting jumpers, scarves and other warm garments so Christmas seemed like a great opportunity. It’s cold over in France, it’s the perfect excuse to knit something for my family.

J’ai tricoté beaucoup de cadeaux cette année; cinq, pour être exact. Vivant dans un pays chaud, ça me manque beaucoup de tricoter des pulls, écharpes et autre vêtements chauds. Noël me semblait donc une opportunité parfait : Il fait froid en France, c’est une très bonne excuse pour tricoter quelque chose pour ma famille.

Wave shawl (5)

I made this shawl for my mum out of Merino Lace from Skein Yarns, in the Ayame colourway. It was the first time I was knitting with a lace yarn before; it was so fine, quite different from anything I’d seen before but lots of fun.

J’ai fait ce châle pour ma maman, avec de la dentelle de mérinos de chez Skein Yarns, coloris Ayame. C’était la première fois que j’utilisais de la laine de dentelle ; elle est très fine, complètement différente de ce à quoi je suis habituée mais très sympa à tricoter.

Wave Shawl (1)

The pattern is also from Skein Yarns. It’s called ‘Wave Shawl’ and is available for free on her website. It took me a couple of tries to get the hang of the Turkish lace pattern without constantly dropping stitches but after that it knitted really easily.

Le patron est également de Skein Yarns. Il s’appelle ‘Wave Shawl’ et est disponible gratuitement et en français, ici. Il m’a fallu 2 ou 3 essais avant de réussir à faire le motif de dentelle turque sans perdre de mailles mais une fois que j’avais prit le coup, c’était facile et assez rapide à tricoter.

Wave shawl (7)

I added one pattern repeat to the shawl, as I found it too small with only seven pattern repeats. I’m really glad I did because it turned out really great like that.

J’ai ajouté une répétition du motif, car je le trouvais trop petit avec seulement sept répétitions. Et c’est tant mieux, car je le trouve super comme ça.

Wave shawl (9)

I’m so happy with it. It’s in a shade that my mum loves and that goes beautifully with her skin tone and hair colour. Because it’s so light, it can also be wrapped around the neck like a scarf. I almost kept it for myself, I loved it so much, hehe.

Je suis vraiment très contente de ce châle. Il est d’une couleur que ma maman adore et qui va superbement avec sa peau et la couleur de ses cheveux. Et comme il est très léger, il peut également se porter noué autour du cou, comme une écharpe. J’ai presque eu envie de le garder pour moi, tellement je l’aime, hehe.

Wave shawl (4)

For more photos, you can check the Ravelry page here.

Vous pouvez voir plus de photos sur Ravelry, ici.

PS : Excuse my wild hair. It was freshly washed and it doesn’t fare well in the Brisbane humidity. It’s also in urgent need of a cut…

PS: Excusez ma tignasse. Mes cheveux étaient fraichement lavés et ils ne réagissent pas bien à l’humidité de notre contrée. Ils ont également besoin d’une bonne coupe…

