Happy New Year everyone! May 2013 be a good year for you all, surrounded by the people you love and filled with fun and happiness.

I’m not very good at the whole ‘The Year That Was’ thing so I’ll be brief. As every year does, 2012 had its good and its bad moments. It was a particularly tough one for me and I was utterly exhausted all year-round. But I’m leaving all the bad stuff behind, taking only the good and the lessons learnt with me into 2013.

This year will be a pretty exciting and adventurous one for us. Mr A is leaving the public service and starting a new job in the private sector tomorrow, I’ll be able to take the test to get my driving licence in a couple of months (better late than never!) and we have a trip to France planned for July/August; so quite a lot to look forward to and I can’t wait!

I’m also pretty keen on making 2013 a healthy year, taking time to exercise more and cooking as much of our food as possible (something I’ve been doing for a while, but there’s always room to improve and do more).

I also want to improve this blog by expanding my horizons a little and not limit it to sewing. There is so much I want to talk about, our lifestyle and what it means to us. But I’ll tell you more about it all in another post, very soon.

In the meantime, I have a whole bunch of handmade Christmas presents to share with you. Whilst it might seem a bit redundant now that Christmas is over and done with, I’d like to document it all so please bear with me over the next two weeks.

Happy 2013!