… but you can’t take France out of the girl. On Sunday morning, I woke up with a craving for some ‘pain perdu’ (French toast). And no, I’m not pregnant, just homesick. And guess what? I just happened to have a bunch of old stale bread in the fridge (there’s a slight possibility that I’d been saving our old bread just for that purpose, but I’ll admit to nothing!). Actually, you may be interested to know that the name ‘pain perdu’ is literally translated by ‘lost bread’, taking its name from the fact that French toast is made using stale (‘lost’) bread.

On n’échappe pas a ses origines. Dimanche matin, je me suis réveillée avec une envie de pain perdu. Et non, je vous rassure, je ne suis pas enceinte, j’ai juste le mal du pays. Et n’est-il pas que justement, j’avais justement du pain raci dans mon frigo (il est peut-être légèrement possible que je gardais notre vieux pain depuis quelques semaines juste pour ca, mais je n’avouerais rien !).

Pain perdu (1)

Anyhow, I had some French toast for breakfast and it was yummy. The quote of the day comes from Mr A, when I was frying butter in the pan: ‘And that’s the smell of France right there’. You bet it is! Melting butter in a pan transports me right back to my childhood. Nom, nom, nom…

J’ai donc prit un petit-déjeuner de pain perdu et c’était délicieux. La citation du jour revient à Mr A, quand j’ai fais fondre le beurre dans la poêle : ‘Et ça, c’est l’odeur de la France juste là’. Tu l’as dit Mr A ! Faire fondre du beurre dans une poêle me renvois directement à mon enfance. Miam, miam… Si vous lisez ceci en français, il y de grandes chances que vous sachiez déjà comment faire du pain perdu, mais au cas où cela vous intéresserait, voici ma petite recette .

Pain perdu (4)

Pain Perdu (French toast)

Pain perdu (3)

Ingredients (serves 2):

  • Stale bread
  • 1 egg
  • ½ cup (125ml) milk
  • ½ teaspoon vanilla essence
  • Sugar to taste

In a bowl, mix the egg, milk, vanilla and sugar until well combined. Cut your bread into thick slices and soak it into the mixture for 5-10 minutes.

Heat a frying pan on medium heat. Place a knob of butter in it and swirl it around to coat the entire pan. Place the bread in the pan, cook until it gets golden brown. Turn the bread over and repeat. Serve warm as is or with cinnamon sugar. For a more Anglo-Saxon option, serve with bacon and maple syrup.

Bon appétit!

Pain perdu (5)

Pain perdu

Ingrédients (pour 2 personnes)

  • Du pain raci
  • 1 œuf
  • 125ml lait
  • ½ cuill à café d’extrait de vanille
  • Du sucre, selon votre gout

Dans un bol, bien combiner l’œuf, le lait, la vanille et le sucre. Couper le pain en grosse tranches et le faire tremper dans le mélange pendant 5-10 minutes.

Chauffer une poêle à feu moyen avec une noix de beurre. Y placer le pain et cuire jusqu’à ce qu’il soit bien doré. Retourner le pain et répéter. Servir chaud tel quel ou saupoudrer avec du sucre mélangé avec de la cannelle. Pour une version très anglo-saxonne, servir avec du bacon et sirop d’érable.

Bon appétit !

Pain perdu (2)

