Tags

, , ,

It’s not often that I make something for myself. I think it’s more fun to make things for the kids. These hand knitted socks though, I’ve been wanting to make them for a long time. I made a pair (different pattern) for Mr. A a little while ago and it got me motivated to make mine.

Ce n’est pas souvent que je couds ou tricote quelque chose pour moi. Je trouve ça plus marrant de faire des trucs pour les enfants. Mais ces chaussettes, cela faisait longtemps que je voulais les faire. J’en ai fait une paire (différent patron) pour Mr. A il n’y a pas longtemps de cela et ça m’a motivée pour faire les miennes.

Socks (2)

I’d bought the yarn at the same time. It’s a very yummy hand-died yarn called ‘Top Draw Socks’ by Skein Yarns, in the Fig colourway. It feels fantastic and it’s perfect for socks, as the name implies.

J’avais acheté la laine en même temps. C’est une laine délicieuse, teinte à la main, qui s’appelle ‘Top Draw Socks’ de chez Skein Yarn, couleur Figue. Elle est douce et agréable au toucher, parfaite pour faire des chaussettes, comme son nom l’indique.

Socks (6)

The pattern is called ‘Hermione’s Everyday Socks’ and is available for free on Ravelry. I like the pattern but I was glad I’d made Mr. A’s socks first as this is not a socks beginner pattern. There are a couple of things that wouldn’t have made sense if I’d made my very first pair of hand-knitted socks using this pattern.

Le patron s’appelle ‘Hermione’s Everyday Socks’ et est disponible gratuitement sur Ravelry. J’aime bien le patron mais j’étais contente d’avoir fait les chaussettes de Mr. A avant celles là. Il y a quelques petits trucs que je n’aurais pas compris si j’avais fait ma toute première paire de chaussettes en laine en utilisant ce patron. Je ne le recommande pas aux débutants.

Socks (3)

It always takes me longer to work on a knitting project than what I originally intend. I do my knitting in the evening whilst watching TV but I don’t always pick it up every time so it’s very sporadic. It was on my list of things to finish while we were on holidays though, and I did.

Ca me prend toujours plus longtemps que prévu de finir un tricot. Je tricote le soir en regardant la télé mais je ne le fais pas forcément tous les soirs, c’est très intermittent. Ces chaussettes étaient sur ma liste de tricots à finir pendant les vacances et je m’y suis tenue.

Socks (5)

It’s a bit late to wear them now. 30 degrees C is not good woollen sock weather, haha. That’s no big deal though, my feet have stopped growing a long time ago, they’ll get some wear next winter.

C’est un peu trop tard pour les porter maintenant. 30 degrés n’est pas vraiment le temps idéal pour porter des chaussettes en laine, haha. Mais ce n’est pas grave du tout, mes pieds ont arrêté de grandir il y a longtemps de cela, je les mettrais l’hiver prochain.

Socks (7)

Ravelry details to be found here.

Plus de détails sur Ravelry ici

Socks (4)

 

Linking to:

