Every year, Elsie Marley organises a worldwide kids’ clothes sew-along, KCWC (Kids Clothes Week Challenge). The goal is to spend a minimum of one hour per day making kids clothes, for a whole week. I already participated last ‘spring’ (which really was autumn here in Australia) and it got me back into the groove of sewing after E was born.

Deux fois par an, Elsie Marley organise KCWC (Kids Clothes Week Challenge). Le but est de passer un minimum d’une heure par jour à faire des vêtements pour enfants, et cela pendant une semaine. J’y ai déjà participé au printemps dernier (qui était en fait l’automne ici en Australie) et cela m’a permit de me remettre à la couture après la naissance d’E.

Tank Tops (1)

I cheated a little bit with today’s project. I made the tank tops just before we left on holidays as I wasn’t sure we would be back on time for me to sew today. I did make them with KCWC in mind though, so I guess it counts, hehe.

J’ai un peu triché pour le projet d’aujourd’hui. J’ai fait les débardeurs juste avant qu’on parte en vacances car je n’étais pas sure qu’on soit rentrés à temps pour que je fasse de la couture aujourd’hui.

Tank Tops (2)

The pattern is the ‘Blank Tank’ by Melly Sews. It’s a great pattern; I’ll tell you more about it in another post.

Le patron est le ‘Blank Tank’ de Melly Sews. C’est un super patron, je vous en dirais plus prochainement.

Tank Tops (4)

I made all the tanks using old t-shirts that needed a new life. A friend of mine recently gave me a big bag of unwanted clothes to play with and I’ve been having fun going through it and picking a few t-shirts to use for today’s project.

Tous les débardeurs ont été faits à partir d’anciens t-shirts qui avaient besoin d’une nouvelle vie. Une amie m’a récemment fait don d’un gros sac de vêtements dont elle ne voulait plus. Je me suis beaucoup amusée à farfouiller dedans et choisir quelques t-shirts à utiliser pour ce projet.

Tank Tops (7)

To make things easier, I’ve kept the original t-shirts’ hemline and when possible I even unpicked and used the existing ribbing. Waste not, want not.

Pour simplifier un peu les choses, j’ai utilisé le revers des t-shirts d’origine et lorsque possible j’ai même décousu et réutilisé le col. Comme ça, pas de gaspillage.

Tank Tops (5)

It always makes me happy to use something that was going to end up in the bin and make something new and nice with it. I think that’s the tree-hugger hippy in me that comes out then, hehe.

Cela me rend toujours heureuse, de prendre quelque chose qui allait finir à la poubelle et le transformer en quelque chose de nouveau et de sympa. Je pense que c’est la hippy en moi qui ressort, hehe.

Tank Tops (6)

I ‘girlified’ a couple of the tanks by adding a little fabric flower. Miss P loves those flowers, especially the pink one with the button in the middle. She’s fascinated by it.

Pour les rendre plus ‘fille’, j’ai décoré deux des débardeurs à l’aide d’une fleur en tissu. Miss P adore les fleurs, surtout la rose avec le bouton au milieu. Ca la fascine.

Tank Tops (9)

I had so much fun making those, it’s a good thing I ran out of time or I’ve have made a few more, but four is really enough. They’re so practical and absolutely perfect for a Brisbane summer.

Je me suis tellement amusée à faire ces hauts que j’en aurais bien d’autres si je n’avais pas été à court de temps. Heureusement, car quatre c’est déjà suffisant. Il faut dire aussi, ils sont tellement pratiques et vraiment parfaits pour notre été.

Tank Tops (3)

Looking at the photos, I noticed that the armholes on the pink one looked a bit wonky and uneven and I was a bit worried about that but it was fine after it got into the wash. I must have pulled on it a bit whilst topstitching. Good thing to know that a wash cycle fixes it up.

Quand j’ai pris les photos, j’ai remarqué que les emmanchures du t-shirt rose paraissaient inégales. Cela m’a un peu inquiétée mais après un passage en machine le problème était réglé. J’ai dû tirer un peu sur le tissu quand j’ai surpiqué. En tout cas, c’est bon à savoir qu’un lavage en machine remette le tout en place.

Tank Tops (11)

So there you have it, the first day’s project. I can’t wait to see what everyone else is making. If you’re interested too, check out Elsie Marley’s Flickr group.

Voilà donc pour le premier jour de KCWC. J’ai hâte de voir les créations de tout le monde. Si cela vous intéresse aussi, allez voir le groupe Flickr d’Elsie Marley.

Tank Tops (8)

