Bear Play Rug (2)

I am so happy I finished this. And not in a ‘it took me so long I’m glad it’s over’ kind of way but rather that I really love how the play mat turned out and the time put into it was all worth it.

Je suis vraiment contente d’avoir fini ce tapis d’éveil. Et pas dans le sens que ca m’a prit tellement de temps que je suis contente que ce soit fini, mais plutôt dans le sens que j’aime tellement le résultat que les heures que j’ai passées a le faire en valaient vraiment la peine.

Bear Play Rug (6)

I started it a few weeks back then didn’t touch my sewing machine for almost two months. I spent quite a few hours making it but luckily it’s not difficult at all, just time-consuming. The trickier part was handling such big pieces of fabric and feed all these layers through my poor machine.

J’ai commencé le tapis il y a plusieurs semaines de cela mais je n’ai pas touché ma machine a coudre pendant Presque deux mois donc il était resté en attente. Ca m’a prit pas mal d’heures pour le finir mais heureusement il n’était pas difficile a faire. Le plus délicat était de coudre de si grands morceaux de tissu et passer autant de couches de tissu sous ma machine.

Bear Play Rug (3)

The only hurdle I got with this was that my machine couldn’t handle sewing the head on the body: including the seams, I would have had to feed it 3 layers of batting and 6 layers of fleece; no amount of pulling and tugging was going to convince poor Simone to eat all that. I ended up sewing the head by hand.

Le seul problème que j’ai rencontré a été d’attacher la tête au corps: en incluant les coutures, ca faisait 3 couches de Vlieseline gonflante et 6 couches de tissu polaire à passer dans ma machine et j’avais beau pousser et tirer, ma pauvre Simone n’en a fait qu’à sa tête et a refusé de coopérer. Au final, il a fallu que je couse la tête à la main.

Bear Play Rug (5)

For those interested in the facts, the pattern is Burda Style #7415 (bought in France; I’m guessing the pattern numbers are the same everywhere though) and the fabric is just plain fleece I bought at Spotlight, along with the polyester batting. The pattern envelope also gives you the option to make a sheep or a turtle play mat.

Pour ceux qui s’intéressent aux détails, le patron que j’ai utilisé est Burda Style no. 7415, qui donne aussi les patrons pour faire des tapis en forme de tortue ou de mouton. Le tissu est du polaire uni acheté a Spotlight, mon magasin local, ainsi que la Vlieseline gonflante.

Bear Play Rug (4)

And of course, as those things always go, the day I finished it, is the day that Little E. started crawling! That’s OK though, it’ll still find some use as a rug in the kids’ bedroom.

Et bien sur, comme fait exprès, le jour où j’ai fini le tapis d’éveil est aussi le jour où Little E. s’est mit à ramper ! Mais ce n’est pas grave, il fait maintenant office de tapis tout doux dans la chambre des enfants.

Bear Play Rug (1)