If someone had told me that one day I’d make a cake that contains absolutely no fat, I’d have laughed. Before I made this, I was more of the mind that if you’re trying to make a ‘healthy’ cake, you may as well not bother. BUT, then I got this recipe from my mother in law. She’s the Queen of baking – her credentials: 7 children (7!!!). All the recipes I got from her are just awesome. They’ve been tried and tested half a million times and she just knows all about baking – what works, what doesn’t, the good flavour combos, all that stuff.

So I tried her recipe, tweaked it a little to add the bananas and my, oh, my, what a surprise! It was good! Delicious! Awesome! It has no butter, margarine or oil and very little sugar but you wouldn’t know it. Want to try it? Here’s the recipe:

Skinny Monkey Cake

Ingredients:

  • 1 tin (400g.) pineapples pieces
  • 2 ripe bananas
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 1/2 cups self-raising flour
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup coconut (optional)

Pre-heat your oven at 180 degrees C.

Place the pineapple with the juice from the tin and the bananas in a blender and whizz it all together.

Beat the eggs. Add the sugar and beat well. Add the pineapple and mix it all together.

Add flour, mix lightly. Add the coconut if desired.

Place in a greased and lined tin and bake for 40-45 minutes.

Note: This cake will be quite moist and heavy. If you place a skewer in it to check if it’s cooked, it might not come out entirely clean but that’s ok. As long as it’s not all gooey, it’s fine.

And there you have it. I’ve already made it twice and it’s been a big hit both times. Nom, nom, nom :)