Kids. They grow faster than bamboo. Or at least it feels like it. Miss P seems to constantly grow out of her pants. It’s fine by me, I love making her some more, hehe.

KCWC Day 6 (1)

I’ve used my beloved Big Butt Baby Pants pattern to make two pairs in size 2T. The first pair was made out of some pink stretchy cotton drill. It was looking a bit plain on its own so I added a pocket with iron-on babushka appliques.

KCWC Day 6 (2)

Miss P loves the appliques. She has a little babushka doll she calls ‘okka’ (her attempt at saying ‘babushka’) and she was pointing at the appliques saying ‘papa okka, maman okka, baby okka’. Drop dead cute!

KCWC Day 6 (4)

I made the second pair out of my all-time favourite pants. They didn’t fit me anymore – they were from an age before babies, I wasn’t even close to closing that zipper! – and had seen so much use they had a few stains. It was the perfect way to give them a second life. The photo doesn’t do them justice; the fabric is a heavy cotton, cream-coloured with light grey vertical stripes.

KCWC Day 6 (3)

And this wraps up KCWC for me. I didn’t make anything today, I thought 5 pairs of pants and a hat were a pretty good effort :) This challenge really worked for me, not only I’ve got clothes for the kids, but it’s also motivated me to get back into sewing. Now I know I can do it, even if it’s just 30 minutes here and there during the day.

Happy sewing everyone!

