Tags

There’s nothing like a good upcycling/recycling project: good for the wardrobe, good for the environment, good for the soul. Everyone wins, hehe. So, over the week-end, I picked up an old Bonds Tee of Mr A’s and turned it into this:

Monkey T 1

Not a bad way to recycle an old tee, I reckon. For the neckbands, I used some scraps of yellow interlock knit fabric, leftover from making one of my maternity dresses. Total cost of the tee: $0.

Monkey T 4

The pattern is from the Little One Layette by Fishstick Designs. Easy to follow, clear instructions, and pretty quick to make (especially if using an overlocker).

Monkey T 2

I love how this tee-shirt turned out. It’s all tiny and cute and I love that neckline’s style for babywear; very easy to put on and off. The monkey on the front was done using a stamp and ink pad I got from my sister at Christmas. It didn’t turn out as well as I’d hoped. I think next time I’ll buy some fabric paint to use with the stamps, it should show better than the ink pad.

Monkey T 3

I’ll definitely make more of these. They’re cute, cheap, easy and quick to make. And Little Dude seems to like his Monkey T. Besides, I still have a lot of old t-shirts waiting to get a new life…

