Tags

This is one of the very easy and quick projects I’ve been able to do since Little E was born. I didn’t use burp cloths with Miss P but I should have. I used hand towels (too big) or squares of fabric we nicknamed ‘milky cloths’ (not absorbent enough). Having two children now, available space in the nappy bag is hard to find so I needed something that was soft, absorbent and wouldn’t fill up the entire bag;  these burp cloths were the perfect answer to that problem. They’re also great to use at home, perfect to throw on the shoulder or just keep within hands’ reach.

Burp Cloth 1

I used scraps of cotton flannelette fabric for the softness on one side and terry towelling on the other side for absorbency.

Burp Cloth 2

Now, there must be a gazillion tutorials on how to make burp cloths out there in blogland but in case you’re interested, here’s how I made mine:

Burp Cloth 4

For each burp cloth, you’ll need:

  • 1 piece cotton flannelette (or any other soft fabric, such as minky): 17cm x 50cm (6.5″ x 19.5″)
  • 1 piece terry towelling (or use an old towel): 17cm x 50cm (6.5″ x 19.5″)

Place both pieces of fabric right sides together and stitch all around using a 1cm (3/8″) seam allowance, leaving a 7cm (3″) opening at the top. Turn the burp cloth right side out, making sure you carefully poke the corners out with a pen or chopstick.

Press the seams flat and topstitch all around, very close to the edge, closing the opening in the process.

Burp Cloth 3

And that’s it. Pretty simple, isn’t it? They’re so handy and such a good way to recycle old towels and use up those big scraps of flannel that I can’t believe I never used them for Miss P!

P1040715

I’m curious now, what did/do you guys use? Burp cloths or other?

