Tags

,

It was only a matter of time until I made a bag to store knitting needles. I got the idea last year when I made a crochet hooks case for my sister; I thought it was a great idea and wanted to make something similar to hold knitting needles. Fast forward one year, and I finally did it.

Knitting Needles Bag 1

I originally designed this bag for myself but when I was doing my drawings, trying to figure it all out, I thought this would make a nice present for my knitter of a mum. It’s pretty big, it can fit 22 pairs of needles if putting just one pair in each casing but they’re big enough to fit two pairs if needed. I made the casings in two sizes, to fit both long and short needles. I’ve also sewed two pockets at the top for all the small bits and pieces.

Knitting Needles Bag 2

As is to be expected with something I’ve drafted myself, there are a few things I’d change if I made another one. For instance, I’d make the needle casings smaller and make more of them, so they’d fit only one pair of needles but be nice and snug; I’d also close it with 2 buttons and hairbands and place them closer to the handles so it would hold its shape better when closed.

Apart from that, I’m very happy with how it turned out. Now I just need to find time to make one for myself, hehe.