Oops. It appears that I have totally not managed to get the tutorial ready for Wednesday as I had promised, and still didn’t have it ready on Thursday, or even yesterday. Time is really escaping me at the moment. I really just have to type it, take some photos and collate it all together so I’m hoping to do that this week-end (maybe?) and get in on the blog early next week. Fingers crossed.

In the meantime, I thought I’d show you what I made for Miss P recently, a few pairs of shorts and capris. I am absolutely in love with these! The knot cuffs are just so cute, and I made them out of cotton so they’re nice and light, perfect for a Brisbane summer. I made two pairs as capris and one pair as shorts (same pattern but with about 3″ taken off the legs).

Knot Shorts 7

The pattern I used is this Baby & Toddler Shorts pattern by Little Lizard King. They’re pretty easy to put together but I wouldn’t recommend it for an absolute beginner as there are a few things missing from the instructions. Nothing major, just a few little details but I did have to read the instructions very carefully before I started so I wouldn’t make mistakes.

Knot Shorts 1

The only thing I did different was the elastic, which I cut about 2″ longer than recommended on the pattern. The recommended length made the pants too tight around the waist for Miss P to wear over the cloth nappies. They were even a bit tight with disposable nappies. The cut of the shorts leaves plenty enough room to fit a cloth-nappied butt though so I didn’t have to go a size bigger like I usually do and after I cut the elastic longer, they fit perfectly!

Knot Shorts 6

They passed the ‘Miss P Test’ with flying colours:

Climbing all over everything? Check
Knot Shorts 5

Yoga? Check
Knot Shorts 2

Chilling on the couch? Check
Knot Shorts 3

She loves them, and so do I. She also loves drawing on her feet and t-shirt. Luckily, the pants miraculously escaped the pen attack. Phew! I think she just liked them too much to start re-decorating them, hehe.

Knot Shorts 4