I really like shirts for little girls (for little boys too, mind you, I think they’re totally cute) so I was really excited about this project. I’ve had this Lily Bird Studio pattern for ages and finally got around to using it. I was really glad when I bought it, one doesn’t find good shirt patterns very often. There are a gazillion dress patterns out there, but not so much for cute little shirts.

Summer Blouse 1

For this, I was motivated partly by a pledge I recently made to myself to reduce my fabric stash and partly by the lack of blouses in Miss P’s wardrobe. No, really, she NEEDS blouses because otherwise she’d have nothing to wear. Ahem.

Summer Blouse 6

I had a moment of doubt about the fabric when I was sewing it but in the end, I absolutely love it and so does Miss P. She didn’t want me to take it off, although it was a bit too hot for her to wear it. It’s so cute.

Summer Blouse 2

I love all the little details of the shirt, the gathered sleeves with bias trim, the ruffled collar, the yoke. It’s fairly easy to make too and the pattern comes with detailed instructions and lots of photos so it’s pretty much a breeze.

Summer Blouse 3

Now I want to make another one. Or two. Or three.

Summer Blouse 4

‘Live long and prosper’. I had to share this photo with you, I love it so much! It’s completely random, we don’t watch Star Trek so she has no idea what the Vulcan salute is but it’s hilarious. It’s never too early to be a geek, hehe

