Tags

I’m a bit late announcing this month’s theme but everything will be a little bit late this week I think. We’ve just had a bad week with very little sleep and nasty colds to top it all off and we’re still recovering. Needless to say, there wasn’t much sewing done and I now have a pile of still unfinished projects, including today’s tutorial – which I should have ready tomorrow instead – and my last Maternity Sewing project that I’m hoping to finish and show you later on this week.

But back to this month’s theme, Miss P’s Bedroom Makeover. I have a long list of things I’ve wanted/needed to do for ages to make Miss P’s bedroom more lively and I’d like to have it all done before her little brother arrives so I’m using this as an excuse to spend the whole month on it and get it sorted, hehe.

We’re renting and as such I’m limited in what I can do so it won’t be so much a ‘makeover’ as just prettying it up and finding some storage solutions to keep all her toys and things. You can see above and below some photos of Miss P’s bedroom as it is now, very bare as you will notice.

Although we’re renting, I do have a small advantage. When we moved in, just before Miss P was born, I really hated the awful colour her bedroom was (see photo below). That electric blue was just dreadful, turning a depressing colour at night, and the paint job was pretty bad to start off with. Luckily I got the landlord’s ok and I repainted it in a more neutral colour – the light peach colour it is now – which means that I do have a bit of freedom with the walls; I can always repaint another coat before we leave if I need to. The downside is that I can’t add any shelves or anything like that.

Miss P's bedroom when we moved in

I have a whole bunch of ideas, not just for the walls but for the bedroom in general so hopefully I’ll be able to turn it into something a little bit nicer. If you have any ideas/suggestions, please throw them my way. I’d love to hear what you think and any recommendations you might have.

And don’t forget to come back tomorrow for the first tutorial of the month :)