Tags

I’m sorry I don’t have a tutorial for you today so to make myself forgiven I thought I’d give you a few links to some other amazing maternity clothes tutorials that I found recently.

Every year, Luvinthemommyhood does a fantastic job with her Maternity Sewing Round-up from all over blogland so definitely check it out. You can find her 2011 round-up here and the 2010 one here.

I also realised that I’ve used knit fabrics in all the tutorials I’ve posted here this month. Knit fabric is super comfy and stretchy so it’s kind of a staple for maternity clothing, but I also know that sewing with knits can be a little intimidating. I’m no expert, far from it. It took me ages to give it a go, I thought it would be really difficult. But it’s not really. All you need is to get a little practice with your machine to see how it goes – and ballpoint needles. The overlocker makes things quicker and easier but it’s not necessary, you can sew knits with your sewing machine just as well.

Jaime from Prudent Baby recently did a great post on How to Sew with Knits where she tells you everything you need to know, including how to sew knits with any kind of machine (even the most basic sewing machine). She’s done a great job with clear instructions, perfect for beginners or people who want to try out knit sewing.

If you want to know more, there is also a whole bunch of great posts on Sewing with Knits over at Fishsticks Designs with more information on the different kinds of knit fabrics available and tips on how to hem knit clothing.

I hope this helps and you all give knits a go :) It opens up so many possibilities, it’s absolutely worth it!

That’s it for today, but it’s not quite the end of maternity sewing yet. Come back tomorrow for some photos of a maternity skirt I made from Anna Maria Horner’s ‘Handmade Beginnings’ book.

