I was really excited about making this tunic for Miss P. It’s getting nice and warm here in Brisbane, which means we have a lot of beach and pool days in front of us and this kaftan-like top was perfect for that. I actually bought both the pattern and the fabric ages ago with the best intentions to make this tunic last summer, but never got around to it.

Sophie Tunic 2

The pattern I used is Sis Boom’s ‘Sophie Tunic’ pattern and the fabric is a cotton voile from Anna Maria Horner’s Innocent Crush collection that I fell in love with as soon as I saw it.

Miss P is just shy of being 18 months old so I made the 18-24 months size. Unfortunately, that turned out to be too small. Not only is it tight across her chest – the tunic is meant to be lose-fitting – but the neck opening is also a bit too small. I managed to pass her head through but it did require a fair amount of tugging. She’s not a big child in any sense, she’s a pretty average size and weight so I’ll just take a wild guess and say this pattern just sizes pretty small. Those things happen, and it’s really my fault for not checking the measurements before I cut the fabric. I never do, I’m too lazy for that, hehe.

That’s no huge drama though. I’d bought 2.5 yards of this fabric and only used 0.5 yard for the tunic so I have plenty leftover to make it again in a bigger size. Plus, it’s pretty easy to put together and doesn’t take very long.

Sophie Tunic 1

And what will happen to this one, you’ll ask? Well, it will go to another little princess, Miss P’s cousin. See, nothing’s lost :)

