Now that I’ve started making clothes for myself, I’m really enjoying it and found it was as much fun as making kids clothes. Don’t worry though, I haven’t forgotten Miss P – or the baby for that matter. I have quite a few projects in store for both of them, but as I’m getting bigger by the day, my wardrobe is shrinking at a frighteningly fast pace and needs a bit of replenishing.

Mariposa Dress 3

The Mariposa Dress comes from Anna Maria Horner’s ‘Handmade Beginnings’ book. I bought it a few weeks ago and have had a hard time deciding what to start with, all the projects look so gorgeous and/or adorable that I want to make them all. I really like that she’s dedicated a whole chapter to ‘Sewing for Mama’ and has also made some of her patterns in both Maternity and non-Maternity versions.

The pattern itself was pretty good but had a few mistakes. The first one I found was that the notches on the wrap ties and on the sleeves/bodices didn’t actually line up. It freaked me out at first, I thought I had done something wrong and it was all going to turn out horribly, but after checking the original pattern and trying – and failing – to figure out how to work it out, I just figured that it was one of those errors that happen on patterns sometimes. They do happen, right? Anyway, I just ignored the notches, only using them as a guide for the orientation of the pieces and not lining them up. As the dress turned out great, I guess I was right. Phew!

Mariposa Dress 1

Also, should I make this again, I’d make the dress at least 2 inches longer, maybe even 3. You can see on the photos that it’s a wee bit too short for comfort. Let’s just say, I’d better be careful not to bend down too much. I’ll still wear it though, because I really like the dress, but I might resort to layering it with some tights, leggings or even pants. Just for safety’s sake, hehe :) Apart from that, the instructions and illustrations were really good and pretty easy to follow.

Mariposa Dress 2

Looking at these photos, I can see that there are a few things I’m in desperate need of: a haircut, a tan, and learn how to use Photoshop to get rid of unsightly things in the background such as leftover planks of wood. That, and a fancy digital SLR camera and photography lessons to go with it. Right. Maybe I’ll just start with the haircut and keep it at that :)

