For the first time since I’ve started sewing, I’ve made something for myself. I was pretty excited about this project and I’m very happy about how it turned out. It’s not perfect, but who cares? It’s done and it’s wearable.

Here’s how it happened. Mr A had a couple of pairs of suit pants which he doesn’t want to wear anymore. To be fair, they were cheap ones, bought years ago when he got his first serious office job and we were too broke to invest into a good suit. I was about to give them away to an Op Shop when I found out that… oh wait, I haven’t told you the exciting news yet! Most of the people reading this blog already know but for those who don’t, here you go:

I am pregnant with our second child, who is due around the 21st of December. A Christmas baby! Needless to say, we are very, very excited and really can’t wait for Christmas :)

So back to the pants. The suit pants were destined to go to Salvos but when I found out I was pregnant, I had a better idea. Why not trying to turn them into maternity pants? It was a pretty big bet, as I had absolutely no idea of what I was doing… or how I was going to do it for that matter.

Maternity Pants 1

The first thing I did was to take off the waistband and the zipper. Zippers and pregnancies really are the worst enemies. Then I took up the sides a littles, on both the outer and inner leg seams. It took me quite a few goes of sewing, trying the pants on, sewing a bit more, trying the pants on again and so on. I wish I’d had my mum (the seamstress of the family) to help then, but I live on the other side of the planet from her, so I had to make do and use the slow method, hehe.

When that was done, I found that the waistline was still too high to accommodate a growing belly so I took 2 inches off it, and sewed the elastic and ribbing band to it. And… tadaaaaaaa! There I am, with a pair of maternity pants.

Maternity Pants 3

When I started this post, I was a bit hesitant to show you the first photo. You know, the whole ‘this photo makes me look fat, my hips look very round, etc’. But then I slapped myself (not too hard, don’t worry) and thought ‘Gwen, this is how you are, roundish hips and all, not to mention there’s a baby baking in there so there’s no point in hiding it’. If I had been a better seamstress I would have been able to tailor the pants in a way that would hide all that… Mum, you wouldn’t, by any chance, be considering moving to Australia on a permanent basis, would you? No? Just saying…

Maternity Pants 2

When I find the time, I might actually do a ‘tutorial’ to show you (with photos) how I did it all. Who knows, someone might be interested and/or inspired? :)