March is a month of birthdays around here. Miss P was born in March – she’ll be one on Thursday, I still haven’t come to terms with that – and all her friends from Mothers Group are also born in March so we have a fair bit of first birthday parties happening at the moment.

Truck 1

The first party was for a little boy. It had a fire-engine theme and as you know it, I love me a good handmade present so I just couldn’t resist the temptation. I found this tutorial on Make It and Love It’s blog, looked through my stash for some red fabric – and realised at that point that I seriously need to build up my stash of solids! – and made my version of Ashley’s truck. And let me tell you, it was so much fun to make!

Truck 2

I just LOVE sewing for boys. It’s a bit more of a challenge than sewing for girls, there are not as many tutorials, patterns or even fabric out there for boys, but if you look carefully you can find some great stuff. Make sure you check out Rae and Dana‘s blogs. They’ve just hosted they second Celebrate The Boy series and have shared tons of tutorials and ideas, both by them and by other bloggers.

Truck 3

Happy Sewing!

