The shops are all stocked up with chocolates, there’s red, green and white everywhere you go, markets are in full swing… yes, Christmas is coming!

I looove Christmas. Who doesn’t? Happy kids, guilt-free chocolate eating, a mountain of food, prezzies, family gatherings… can it be Christmas yet? :-) Before the fun part of Christmas though, there is the no-fun bit: Christmas shopping. I’m not big on shopping to start off with and around Christmas it’s always a nightmare: too many people in too small spaces. Now, I love giving prezzies, putting a smile on someone’s face, making them happy. But it saddens me a little to know that once again I’m going to go to the shops, pick something I think and hope people will like, simply because it’s the done thing. Unless I find THE perfect prezzie – and how often does that happen? – what I will be buying will be mass-produced and impersonal. And no amount of racking my brains trying to think what prezzie will be best for each person will change that, something bought in a shop will remain something bought in a shop.

So this year, I’m going to try to make as many handmade gifts as possible: gifts that are unique, gifts in which I’ve invested a bit of myself, gifts in which I will put a bit of my love for everyone. And to help with this massive project, Sew, Mama, Sew! is hosting their 4th Annual Handmade Holidays series, where I hope to find inspiration, great ideas and tutorials.

Wish me luck! :-)

