I am an optimist, the temperature WILL rise above 25 degrees… any day now… how about today? No? Okay, rain it is then!

I am sad to say that so far this year, ‘sunny’ Brisbane isn’t living up to expectations. Same time last year, we were already wearing sundresses, shorts, sunnies and  bucket-loads of sunscreen. But like I said, I am optimistic, so for the last two days I’ve been working on a pattern for some bloomers for Miss P. Because dresses on their own don’t really work with cloth nappy babies, you need something to hold the nappy in place. Until now, a bodysuit or a pair of tights was doing the trick but with the weather getting warmer, both are quickly becoming obsolete.

This is what I came up with:

It’s way too small for Miss P. (I took her measurements without the nappy on and didn’t add enough of seam allowance) but the shape is right. I need to tweak it a bit now to make it bigger.

When that was done, I had a scrap of fabric left, too small to do anything else with it but too big to throw away, so I thought I’d make a headband. I cut 3 strips out of it, each 1 inch wide and made straps out of them. With the rest of the fabric (about 1.5 inch wide), I used as the back piece and shirred it, using this tutorial from Flossie Teacakes as a guide. I platted the 3 straps and sewed them to the shirred piece (apologies for the dreadful photos):

The finished product is OK but not great because, to be completely honest, with that on Miss P. looks a bit like a cross between Julius Caesar and a tennis player (the image of Luke Wilson in ‘The Royal Tenenbaums’ comes to mind). So next time I’ll make the back piece shorter and maybe a bit wider, and the front piece will be longer and much wider, or I might do 2 or 3 platted straps instead of just one, and possibly add a flower.

The good thing about this headband is that, thanks to the shirred bit at the back, it holds on Miss P’s head really well without squeezing her brains out of her ears.

On that note I’ll have to leave you, the afore-mentioned Miss P. is starting to lose it.