Just to prove that not all my posts are about sewing, here is one about another favourite pastime: baking. I recently told my husband that if I want to keep on baking as much as I like, we’ll need to have something like 10 kids, because more kids = less cake for each of us = better diet. Makes perfect sense, doesn’t it?

But we’re still 9 kids short of the 10 needed, so at the moment I just seize every opportunity I can to do some baking. The family dinner we were invited to on Saturday was one of those perfect excuses and I made a delicious (if I may say so myself ;-) ) lemon yoghurt cake. This is one of my favorite recipes, and it comes from June 2009’s delicious. magazine (Australian edition):

 

Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 125g unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup (110g) caster sugar
  • 3 large free-range eggs, separated
  • 1 tbs grated lemon zest
  • 1/4 cup (60ml) lemon juice
  • 180g plain flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 200ml natural yoghurt

Boozy prunes:

  • 100g soft, pitted prunes
  • 200ml Marsala*
  • 1/4 cup (55g) caster sugar
  • zest of 1 lemon, pared, thinly sliced
  • 2 tbs lemon juice

For the boozy prunes, place the prunes and Marsala in a small bowl, then leave to soak for 1 hour or until prunes soften. Meanwhile, preheat oven to 180 degrees C. Grease a 20cm springform cake pan.

In a large bowl, beat butter and sugar with electric beaters until thick and pale. Add yolks, 1 at a time, beating well after each addition. Beat in the lemon zest and juice. Sift flour and baking powder together and carefully fold into batter in 3 batches, alternating with yoghurt. (The batter will be quite thick and stiff). In a separate bowl, beat egg whites until stiff peaks, then gently fold into the batter. Spread batter into cake pan, smooth the top and bake for 50 minutes or until a skewer inserted in the centre comes out clean. Set aside for 10 minutes to cool slightly.

Strain Marsala from prunes, set prunes aside and pour Marsala into a pan. Add sugar, lemon zest and juice, then bring to the boil over medium heat, stirring, for 2 minutes or until slightly thickened. Return prunes to syrup, tossing to coat.

Slice cake and serve with prunes and syrup, with extra yoghurt if desired.

I usually pour the syrup and prunes on top of the cake at least 20-30 minutes before serving, so it has time to be absorbed by the cake. An alternative is to pour it at the last minute, and use the syrup as a sauce.

* I never have Marsala so I always end up using dark rum instead and it works really well

Looking pretty yummy, isn’t it?

